Right to die? No thanks, I still have things to do.

As I understand, people would have to only have 6 months left to live to opt for this. Still, there is room for pressure to be put upon the individual to go for that option. I’m just worried that it will be the ‘thin end of the wedge’; a gateway to more Swiss-style euthanasia.

If that happened I’d probably go for that right now. I’ve been sick for 20 years, so let me explain something about chronic pain. If it’s nerve pain, there are pills that can dampen that down, but anything else, forget it. Yes, people in palliative care can be made comfortable, but not people with years left to live. So you either go head on into stronger morphine like medication, that results in severe constipation, and after time, they stop working as your body gets used to them (so that you’re not only addicted to them but they don’t work), or you keep going on and off painkillers, and suffering greatly in between. You’re never in a state of comfort, and all you can see is this carrying on and on.

Then there’s the reams of other symptoms of multiple health problems, that can’t be controlled properly. Lack of sleep is a constant. At present I have no quality of life. I can’t see friends or family. I can’t engage in the hobbies that I used to, the last time was last year. I can’t go out anywhere except to the doctors or hospital. And that’s how it’s going to be now for the rest of my life.

I might sound depressed, and perhaps I am. My world closed in very slowly, so I did have chance to adjust. When I became mostly housebound, I didn’t mind too much because I had a few little hobbies, although painful to engage in. Then finally this year I am unable to do any of those things. So, I have to adjust again I suppose, but I don’t know quite how. The days are very long and boring, apart from the suffering.

So yes, I think I’d opt out of this existence, but then it would hurt my family greatly, and I have to think about them, but it’s not an issue yet because the law isn’t in place anyway. This law has to be stopped nevertheless, because there are probably thousands of people like me, who would go through with it, and bring much distress to families who could have had a little more time with their loved ones.

Poppy's Place

On Friday 11th September Parliament will, once again, debate assisted dying. And, yet again, opinions are polarised. Everyone has their own views on the matter, should the legislation allowing assisted suicide be in place or is it the thin end of the wedge and should it remain illegal. Just like many people, I have strong feelings on the issue.

As I am a severely disabled woman, restricted largely to a hospital bed in my living room, many people might expect me to be in favour of taking my own life when things get too much for me. Well, possibly surprisingly, I am not. I am one of the ‘thin end of the wedge’ people. I am only 54 years of age and I have so much more to give, so much more to say, so much more to do. I have two adult daughters, two adult nieces, and I want…

View original post 649 more words

Leave a Reply

