They who sow the wind, reap the whirlwind

Reblogged on: https://sassonhann.wordpress.com/

Comment: Ironically though, this existence is now being foisted on the middle classes – as I always said it would.

Did people really think that if a government was willing to let people die, grind the poor down, massively reduce benefits to the poor, that for one minute, they wouldn’t be prepared to do it to the middle classes?

Take the new NHS contracts that will leave some doctors earning as little as £10 per hour. What about all of the change to barristers and solicitors, making thousands redundant and incomes cut drastically. Look how teachers are being treated, their jobs dumbed down so that unqualified persons now teach.

It astonishes me that they didn’t think it could happen to them; one doctor said to day that she voted conservative, and now regrets that mistake, but it’s too late now my middle class friends. This is what happens when you don’t stand up for the disaffected in society, and rather feather your own nest.

And they’re now coming for you, so that you become a wage slave too. It will happen, because there are only so many ‘management consultant’ jobs out there for you to move into, or places abroad that pay well.

I feel sad that you’re now part of our world, because it’s a scary place to live in.

Fear and loathing in Great Britain

29_september_2015A letter a day to number 10. No 1,215

Tuesday 29 September 2015.

Dear Mr Cameron,

Precariat: “In sociology and economics, the precariat is a social class formed by people suffering from precarity, which is a condition of existence without predictability or security, affecting material or psychological welfare as well as being a member of a proletariat class of industrial workers who lack their own means of production and hence sell their labour to live. Specifically, it is applied to the condition of lack of job security, in other words intermittent employment or underemployment and the resultant precarious existence. The emergence of this class has been ascribed to the entrenchment of neoliberal capitalism.”

The Precariat are an emerging class and new factors are also emerging, such as homelessness, rootlessness (through social cleansing and unaffordable living), sanctions which are now a major cause of a precarious existence, deteriorating mental well being…

View original post 367 more words

4 thoughts on “They who sow the wind, reap the whirlwind

  1. I also said they would work on the middle class too, yet everybody looks at me like I am being horrible and rude.

    The conservatives started with the poor frightening the middle class and hard workers with the benefits, now they are working on the middle class. It will not stop, they will keep going, with cuts and psychological warfare.

    The middle class thought they were safe, but they are wrong. They ate going to be screwed as bad as the rest of us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, no one believed us did they? Who would have thought?

      Yes, I think it’s been quite a shock to them. I have nothing against them; I came from that background originally (never go over the shock of moving onto a council estate when I was estranged from my family lol). It did me the world of good to be knocked down quite a few pegs! I’ll never regret it as it completely changed my outlook.

      When I finally started my degree, literally the whole of my degree work was geared towards the things that are going wrong in our society. I was so shocked as a mature student, to hear the views from the then 18 year old students. They had absolutely NO idea about social history and how this affected classical music; how music was the produce of the socio political environment. At 18 I knew what the world was about, and just in those few years, I was passionate about current affairs and the plight of the poor. Try telling that to the privileged and they ‘glaze over’. I then worked with poor people in the community, to help them express themselves through film and music, but again, I got knocked down, this time by an existing illness.

      My ex husband was from a well known professional footballing family. We were desperately poor back then due to Thatcher’s policies even though my husband worked, but not ONCE did his family offer to help us (they gave more in pocket money to their children than my husband earned!), though we were freezing cold with chilblains, and me getting continual chest infections due to the mold on our walls; constantly getting the power cut off for non payment; at least my mum bought me a free standing gas heater and a warm winter coat, along with clothes for the kids, despite our estrangement. Yes, privilege seems blind to the needy; my mum wasn’t blind, despite her principles.

      And the only way that they will change is if it happens to them. I was a stuck up bitch; I didn’t know that, I really didn’t. I mixed with the footballer’s kids, and the very well off, swimming in their pools all summer: that was normal to me. It took being kicked to the bottom to wake me up, and it surely did.

      I don’t wish harm on anyone, but as my dear elderly friend says, it’s the only way to knock it out of them.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for you reply, I’m sorry for not replying back my depression has been quite bad.

        I’ve always been poor or what people call lower middle class I think. My mum lived lived in a flat next to a pub and worked at a doctors surgery. My dad left when I was 2 years old, and I have no idea what he is like or live.

        When I was little I spent most of my time with my nan and grandad who were also looking after my aunts daughters, which is another story altogether.

        I have always lived in council housing, the house I am living in with my parents we have been in for 27 years.

        I have alway been interested in psychology, though now I am not going to be able to study because of the conservatives.

        I don’t mind middle class people, some can be very nice, but the majority are very look down their noses at you. And I hate that the area I live in, in London is now going through social cleansing and having middle class people setting up. It feel like I don’t belong here sometimes, when I do manage to get out with my mum.

        I think some of them do need it knocked out of them.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sorry about your depression; it’s a horrible thing to deal with each day, so don’t apologise if you don’t feel up to commenting.

        People aren’t in the right environment to get well, and certainly in London you never know where you’ll be living.

        Yes, I’m the one to get looked down upon now; not always, there are some genuinely nice people around as you say. I had it within my family for some time because I wouldn’t give my child up for adoption, but my mum and me are close now.

        I’m sorry that it’s a horrible place to live in; mine is ok but I still dream of escaping; it would be great to have no letterbox then my heart wouldn’t jump into my mouth every time the postman came.

        Well, I do believe ‘they’ will get it knocked out of them now they’ve attacked the working poor and middle classes, but some of them are so stupid they’d still vote for the cons.

        Wishing you a better day. Chat any time; I don’t mind.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

