UK Column: Helena’s Unecessary Death

Poignant interview concerning medical negligence in the 1970s.

It touched me because of the arrogance displayed by medical staff who insisted that Helena’s illness was psychiatric, particularly the consultant’s attitude who it seems would rather let a child die than lose face.

It’s something I’ve faced for 20 years, a long list of medical neglect. I recently developed an agonising heart condition, and despite having an urgent assessment at hospital, I was given no medication or offered a heart scan. I believed this happened because of an insistence over the years that my severe symptoms are psychological. My G.P. had to over rule them, gave me the medication the hospital should have, and 6 weeks late I finally had the scan; meantime, I could have died. Unfortunately, Helena did and this is the background to her tragic case:

http://www.ukcolumn.org/ukcolumn-news/uk-column-live-special-paediatric-drug-company-abuse

One thought on “UK Column: Helena’s Unecessary Death

Leave a Reply

